OT: Extraordinary means of transportation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: Extraordinary means of transportation

I've been joking that this is my new approach to Social Distancing: using a 1-person conveyance.
    It is also very ecologically friendly, so I'm proud to share my new (to me) BMW:

It's a ca. 2004 model Street Carver, made for only a short time by BMW in Germany, designed in their workshop in California. It actually uses parts from a production 5-series, and a novel steering/suspension set-up. This is my first "long board" although I have been skateboarding since the late 1970s.

Pro: it is quite uncommon, a really neat design, it steers very well and is stable at the highest speeds I have reached so far.

Con: it is quite heavy (for both carrying and pushing off, although momentum is good), replacement parts are unavailable, used boards are hard to find and a bit expensive to buy for parts (wheels, for example), it stands high but actually had rather low clearance (not useful at all for tricks), and it cannot be leaned up against a wall like a normal skateboard as the wheels extend beyond the deck.

I'll be getting used to it, and trying to find smooth wide roads with a decent grade for some downhill street surfing. I actually got my wife on a board for the first time I can remember (we've been together since 1992), she rode it a bit yesterday but wasn't too keen to try my old-school '77 Alva.
    B

Very cool! I was big into skateboards in the '80s. I had a Sims Superlight board - wish I still had it. That BMW board is awesome.

Comment

I tried skate for about 1 day, then decided it wasn't going to cut it. I stuck to my BMX bike, which I still have to this day in my cellar. Now I have a mountain bike I got a number of years ago if I need it.
      TKite,
      Hydronaut

I need a new watch

Comment