Jenny alarm diver...any info?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jenny alarm diver...any info?

Hi guys, newbie here with a question. I bought this Jenny alarm "dive" watch NOS three or four years ago and I haven't worn it since, believing it might be quite a collector's piece. What intrigues me is that I have never found another one like it, no info and no photos.

The watch is a smallish 38mm w/o the crowns and seems well built. The crown at 2:00 is a double crown. Turning the large crown clockwise -into the case- frees the small crown on top. This small crown sets the alarm and winds the alarm spring. Sadly, it worked only once the day I got it, with a strong sound. After that, turning the small crown makes a "winding" sound but it doesn't really charge the spring. At 4:00 is a screw down crown with the usual two positions, A for manual wind and B for setting the time.

The watch winds smoothly and runs great, keeping good time, at least in the drawer. I have never worn it, which is a shame. There is no way I can figure out how to change the date, except turning the hands a full 24hrs.

I would really appreciate if anyone could give me more info on this Jenny, or direct me as to where I can find it. Sorry about the dust in the pictures and the rust in my English , and thank you for reading this far.

Cheers,
    Louie.

Hi, Louie, and welcome...

Thats quite a rare find you have there! I've never seen one like it.

If I were you, I'd send it to Jack Alexyon at Interntional Watch Works for a movement overhaul. You'd get back a watch that worked as it should as well as establishing a lot more about it, especially the movement.
    Chances are he could also restore the seals, so you could wear it as it was designed.

There's a lot available on the Jenny family, their ownership of Doxa, etc available on the web with a little search engine fiddling.

I'll also ask a friend who is well versed in alarm movements if he knows more.
    sigpic

Comment